Yes, it is the nastiest 4-letter word of them all: debt. Just saying it makes me spit. I was discussing educational loan debt with my iFriend* Britta and it got me depressed. She and her husband are both in academia and so of course also dealing with the Big D. Our conversation got me thinking… and complaining and moping. I feel smothered by debt (and I’m sure many other former students do, too) and I can’t see an end in sight. When John and I add our debt together, it doubles. And in fact, with this new educational stint I’ve gotten myself into, I’ll easily quintuple my total. But even with my previous loans, I just can’t figure out where it all went. It built up so fast!

During my undergrad and graduate careers, I amassed about $25,000 in debt. Not too bad for two degrees at in-state schools. But I had a full academic scholarship my first 4 years and an assistantship that covered my tuition the last 2 years. And I’ve always held a job while in school too. So somehow, I still needed about $4000 a year in loans to cover God knows what. $333.33 per month. $10.96 per day. What did that get me?

If I could do it again, I’d never buy that damn $6 John Belushi poster. Or the $10 Nalgene bottle(s). I would have purchased more Ramen and less booze. I bought a nice bike for $300, but I failed to invest in a bike lock. As a consequence, I then had to reinvest in another bike, this time $400, and a good lock. I definitely want my $12 back for that crappy Dave Matthews CD, and in retrospect, that big $20 yoga ball was pretty useless. All those textbooks I never used? Those have to be at least a couple hundred bucks wasted. Then there was that $600 I spent on Lulu, but I guess she was worth it. Still, maybe I could put her to work as a sled dog or something. And I am positive I’ve spent over $1000 over the years at Starbucks and other coffee stores. (Thank God I’ve finally invested in a good coffee maker.) And all of that still only brings me to about $2358. I guess I only have myself to blame…

Even now in law school, I was lucky enough to get an academic scholarship. However generous it might be, it barely makes a dent in the $29,000 A YEAR tuition. I am still amazed that I have at least two friends that have graduated debt-free. One took 6 years to get her BS in Accounting and the other ended up with an MPA. And NO debt. I know they both had substantial help from their parents, but I am still incredibly jealous. We’ve been very careful to stay completely away from credit-card debt and we have a healthy savings account. But somehow, that is very little comfort to me. Even when I do finally graduate and hopefully have a six-figure a year job (fingers crossed), I will still be bleeding money to those damn loans. I guess you can’t have your cake and eat it, too.

*Henceforth, all internet friends will be called my iFriends.